Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Old Man
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 09/29/2012 :  15:05:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello.
I am new to electrics and looking to get my first setup on my 12 yr old ez-3.
I came across the electro portal site advertising an ecospeed 4. This is quite different than ecospeed's equipment advertised on their own site. In addition I have been advised that a hub motor on the front would be easier and better than the ecospeed 4. I came here looking for educated and unbiased (by profit) advise.
I am looking for an introductory product to get some experience before planning and building another electric trike for touring.
I am not looking for any particular product endorsement, but advise on the two approaches.
Can anyone enlighten me?
Thanks, Bruce

warren
human power expert

USA
6119 Posts

Posted - 09/30/2012 :  16:19:40  Show Profile  Visit warren's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Bruce,

Electoportal sells the Cyclone kit for the EZ-1 and EZ-3. This is a fine product for under 20 MPH. It's pretty much the same thing you can get here: http://www.cyclone-tw.com/order-double.htm A hub motor would work fine too, though you may have a hard time finding someone to lace one into the 16" wheel on the front of the EZ trike. Maybe one of the eZee or MXUS small geared hub motors will work for you. These guys may put an eZee into a 16" wheel if you ask nice. http://www.ebikes.ca/store/store_ezee.php You will want to stay away from lead acid batteries. A LiFePo4 battery from a respected vendor will work well for you.

-Warren
Go to Top of Page

Old Man
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 10/04/2012 :  13:31:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Warren.
You seem to think that Cyclone is a reputable company. Would you know anything about their bikes or have an opinion on buying such from them?
Thanks again,
Bruce
Go to Top of Page

OpusthePoet
recumbent guru

USA
678 Posts