Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 23

shooky56
recumbent guru

USA
545 Posts

Posted - 01/08/2015 :  20:29:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Steve.

So you ran Blender from a User end (not a programmer) and did 3D animation? I'll have to look at Blender again (still have it on this machine). But yes it is those clearances that worry me most.

Don't think my purchased CAD tool does human modeling but I'm no expert. Probably modeled 10 or 12 parts for CNC cutting and all several years back.... 2008 or 2009 maybe.

Go to Top of Page

Speedy
recumbent guru

USA
883 Posts

Posted - 01/09/2015 :  09:16:51  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
have you seen this ?
http://www.bikecad.ca/

I'm an end user not a programmer
Software use depends on the project or who I'm working with.
One group only uses SolidWorks the next group will use Autocad.
My favorite is Siemens NX. A little bigger learning curve but it does a good job across the board. It has a fully definable human model and a really good CAM package. Each software has strong and weak points.
3D printing is bringing along a whole new age of software packages and things to explore.
They all have trial periods.
All Autodesk products have a one year student license. Everyone can sign up.

Steve Delaire

http://molten3d.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

shooky56
recumbent guru

USA
545 Posts

Posted - 01/10/2015 :  13:20:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Roger that Steve, appreciate all the feedback.

BTW, I took a look at the STL format again (I had studied it in detail circa 5 weeks ago but had forgotten particulars as it was one of several I studied). Mostly I looked at it as an output form to hand over to industrial (5-axis) router software because stl is a "nearly universal" exchange medium.