Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Matthew Martin
Starting Member

USA
17 Posts

Posted - 09/19/2017 :  20:42:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I am a high school student who has been interested in the concept of streamliners and their construction. The question that has been bothering me is not knowing how to attach a windscreen (canopy;plastic view port) to a fiberglass fairing almost seamlessly without the use of tape. I have been working tirelessly on a cad model of a bike that I hope to build. The bike is a somewhat practical streamliner that is high enough to be moderately visible in traffic. I need to be able to attach a large vacuumed formed windscreen to go with my design.As I don't know how to insert my image ( not online so no url) my windscreen needs to be similar to the velotilt

Edited by - Matthew Martin on 10/05/2017 18:49:55

Speedbiker
human power expert

USA
3703 Posts

Posted - 09/19/2017 :  21:20:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You can use two sided tape or glue. Then you can sand it to match and fill and paint the sanded edge.
Go to Top of Page

warren
human power expert

USA
6050 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2017 :  08:16:22  Show Profile  Visit warren's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Typically there is a small channel/flange formed in the body that the windscreen fits into to allow it to be flush with the body.
Go to Top of Page

alevand
human power expert

USA
2874 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2017 :  12:42:18  Show Profile  Visit alevand's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Greg found some instability at speed with a lean steer. I havent seen any high speed videos of the velotilt.

http://adventuresofgreg.com/blog/category/hprecords/24hrdr/page/6/

quote: